The Honorable Mitch McConnell Majority Leader United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Charles Schumer Minority Leader United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Majority Leader McConnell and Minority Leader Schumer:

We write in support of the Kerrie Orozco First Responders Family Support Act (H.R. 6580), a bill that would help the families of first responders who die in the line of duty. The bill passed the House by voice vote on September 25, 2018. We encourage you to support the Kerrie Orozco Act and ask that the Senate pass the bill before the end of the 115th U.S. Congress.

The bill, sponsored by Rep. Don Bacon (R-Nebraska), allows a surviving spouse, child or parent of a U.S. citizen first responder who died in service or as a result of their service to apply for U.S. citizenship more quickly by waiving the five-year continuous residence and the 30-month physical presence requirements for naturalization. The bill requires that the surviving spouse, child or parent still meet all other requirements for naturalization, such as being a lawful permanent resident, having good moral character, and being able to read, write, and speak in English.

The Kerrie Orozco Act is named after fallen Omaha Police Officer Kerrie Orozco, a seven-year veteran of the department killed in the line of duty in 2015. Her husband, Hector Orozco, became a single father, while also facing a wait time of five years before he could apply for U.S. citizenship.

As law enforcement leaders, we support the Kerrie Orozco Act because it recognizes the sacrifice that families of first responders make when a spouse, child or parent dies in service to his or her community. Patterned after legal provisions that allow members of Gold Star Families to naturalize after the death of active-duty service members killed in military service, this bill would aid the families of those who sacrifice their lives in the line of duty, allowing them to find stability and permanence at a particularly difficult time.

We encourage you to support the Kerrie Orozco Act and pass the bill before the end of the

year.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Chief J. Thomas Manger, LEITF Co-Chair Montgomery County, MD

Chief Art Acevedo, LEITF Co-Chair Houston, TX

Sheriff Margaret Mims, LEITF Co-Chair Fresno County, CA

Executive Director Chuck Wexler Police Executive Research Forum (PERF)

Executive Director Dwayne Crawford National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives (NOBLE)

Lt. Andy Norris, Retired Tuscaloosa, AL

Chief Hayes Minor Rogers, AR

Chief Ramon Batista Mesa, AZ

Sheriff Tony Estrada Santa Cruz County, AZ

Chief Chris Magnus Tucson, AZ

Chief Sylvia Moir Tempe, AZ

Chief Mike Soelberg

Gilbert, AZ

Chief Steve Stahl Maricopa, AZ

Chief Roberto Villasenor, Retired Tucson, AZ

Chief Matt Basgall Clovis, CA

Chief Jerry Dyer Fresno, CA

Chief James Lopez, Retired Los Angeles County, CA

Chief Michel R. Moore Los Angeles, CA

Chief Robert N. Sharpnack Costa Mesa, CA

Chief David Valentin Santa Ana, CA

Sheriff Donny Youngblood Kern County, CA

Sheriff Joe DiSalvo Pitkin County, CO

Chief Dwight Henninger Vail, CO

Chief Nick Metz Aurora, CO

Chief Peter Newsham Washington DC, DC Chief Tony Jones Gainesville, FL

Sheriff John Mina Orange County, FL

Chief Sarah J. Mooney West Palm Beach, FL

Chief Orlando Rolon Orlando, FL

Sheriff Paul H. Fitzgerald Story County, IA

Chief Wayne Jerman Cedar Rapids, IA

Sheriff Bill McCarthy Polk County, IA

Director of Public Safety Mark Prosser Storm Lake, IA

Sheriff Lonny Pulkrabek Johnson County, IA

Chief Mike Tupper Marshalltown, IA

Chief William Bones Boise, ID

Chief Craig Kingsbury Twin Falls, ID

Sheriff John Idleburg Lake County, IL

Chief Michael Diekhoff

Bloomington, IN

Chief Ron Teachman, Retired South Bend, IN

Chief James Hawkins, Retired Garden City, KS

Superintendent Michael S. Harrison New Orleans, LA

Commissioner Branville G. Bard, Jr. Cambridge, MA

Commissioner William Gross Boston, MA

Chief Brian Kyes Chelsea, MA

Sheriff Kevin Joyce Cumberland County, ME

Sheriff Jerry Clayton Washtenaw County, MI

Chief Ron Haddad Dearborn, MI

Chief Todd Axtell Saint Paul, MN

Chief Jose Lopez, Retired Durham, NC

Sheriff Mike Haley, Retired Washoe County, NV

Chief Richard Biehl Dayton, OH Chief Cel Rivera Lorain, OH

Public Safety Commissioner Steven Pare Providence, RI

Chief Joseph Hill Horry County, SC

Chief William Holbrook Columbia, SC

Chief David Roddy Chattanooga, TN

Sheriff Marian Brown Dallas County, TX

Chief Frank Dixon Denton, TX

Sheriff Edward Gonzalez Harris County, TX

Chief Andy Harvey Palestine, TX

Sheriff Sally Hernandez Travis County, TX

Chief Mike Brown Salt Lake City, UT

Chief Carmen Best Seattle, WA

Sheriff Mitzi Johanknecht King County, WA

Asst. Chief Randy Gaber

Madison, WI

Chief Michael Koval Madison, WI

Sheriff David J. Mahoney Dane County, WI

Chief Todd Thomas Appleton, WI

\*Signatures updated as of December 12, 2018 10 am ET\*

To download PDF, click here.

